Happy Thanksgiving

thanksOn November 26, 2008 I wrote my first blog for Bill’s Blog. It was a very simple blog entitled “Happy Thanksgiving!”, written the day before Thanksgiving of that year. Since then I’ve published 247 more. If each entry averages 600 words, then Bill’s Blog represents about 148,000 words. 

A lot has happened in Sheri’s and my life since that time. A lot. Sometimes we sit down and chat for a long time about the places we’ve been, the people we’ve met, the churches in which we’ve ministered, the homes we’ve lived in, the homes we’ve bought, the homes we’ve sold … it’s been a wild and exciting ride. If everything we’ve experienced had been carefully chronicled, the number of words would be in the millions, for sure.

So today, on the eve of Thanksgiving Day 2014, I find myself wanting to repeat the same exact words I wrote back in 2008.  I cannot improve upon them, so I won’t even try. Tomorrow morning, we’ll number our blessings together, which should be a great time. 

Anyway, here are those words. Happy Thanksgiving!

_______________________________________________________

It’s the day before Thanksgiving, 2008. Coming up on my favorite holiday.

Why is that?

It’s the holiday that demonstrates the most comely attitude of the true believer, that of thanksgiving.

It’s a mark of the Spirit-filled life.

It enables one to get their focus off of themselves.

It eliminates complaining.

It takes into account the graciousness of God, and realizes what actually is. We owe everything to God.

I love this day. Friends, family, fellowship, food. A true 4-F holiday.

Signing off.

Bill Holdridge

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

