Home > Eternal Things, God's Purposes > On Obtaining a Good Reputation

On Obtaining a Good Reputation

‎”A good name is to be chosen rather than great riches, loving favor rather than silver and gold” (Proverbs 22:1).

This proverb raises the question, what is the most important thing in life?

Is a good name, a good reputation, other’s healthy opinion of us — is this sort of thing more important than gold, silver, riches, or possessions?

The Bible says that it is! ‎”A good name is to be chosen rather than great riches, loving favor rather than silver and gold.”

So the question is, how can we get a good name? And the answer is, the only way we can obtain a good name is to take care of our own personal character. Someone once made the comment (I don’t know who): “If I take care of my character, God will take care of my reputation.”

It’s all a matter of taking heed to my inner life … making sure my motives are pure, making sure that my focus is right—making sure that my eyes have been set clearly on the things of heaven and the things of the kingdom of God. Setting my affections on things above, not on the things of this earth. Making sure that I’m bringing myself before the Lord every single day, that He might wash me, cleanse me, strengthen me, and empower me by the Holy Spirit.

These things are very important to do because our flesh can quickly take over, and the enemy that opposes us is much too strong for us.

What is our great motivation in all of this? Our motivation springs from God’s amazing grace toward us. The one who has been forgiven and loved by God loves much. We want to return our very lives to Him, to give back because He’s given so much to us. We want a good reputation because we are His reflections here on earth, and we love Him so much that we want our reflection of Him to be an accurate one.

We need to choose a good reputation rather than great riches, and do what’s necessary to get it.

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

