Home > Bible Study, Devotional, God's Purposes > Fixing the Fix I’m In

Fixing the Fix I’m In

Yesterday, in the teaching from Ephesians 3:14-21 (http://www.calvarychapelsantacruz.org/media.php?pageID=35), I was sharing concerning the nature of Paul’s prayer for the Ephesian church. I was pointing out the fact that Paul doesn’t zero in on particular needs and pray that God will remove them, but rather he focuses on their realization and experience of God’s power and love in their lives. In other words, the Lord’s focus is on the believer, and what He wants to do in their lives.

In the middle of that explanation, I found the following words pouring forth from my lips.

I don’t know if I’ve heard someone say these words before, or if I’ve read them somewhere, or if they’re original with me (I kind of doubt it). But they seemed profound at the time.

“The Lord wants to minister to the person that’s in the fix. If He can fix the person who is in the fix, then the fix that the person is in will one day get fixed.

If He can fix the person who is in the fix, then He will be able to fix the fix that the person is in.”

I think it’s true, don’t you?

For example, so often in relationships we want the Lord to “fix” the other person. Yet His focus is mainly on us! His goal is to conform us into the image of Jesus, to make us more like Him … to grow us up.

This points to the fact that we all have choices to make about the kind of person we’re going to be. Am I going to let the Lord fix me so He can work in the fix I’m in? Am I going to be the kind of husband, father, pastor, leader, son that I should be, regardless of the responses I receive, or the way I’m treated? Am I going to be all I can be no matter what? Will I allow the Lord to work in me in the midst of my “fixes”?

Points to ponder… thanks for reading.

Bill Holdridge

  1. Debbie Mogg
    March 28, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    How true those words are.

    Personally speaking, when I’m in a fix, I usually fall back on my flesh nature and try to fix my own fix while the Lord sits back and patiently waits. Eventually I wise up and realize that I should have given the issue up to God at the beginning. Once I turn it over to God, I find He responds. Of course, that’s not to say He always responds in the way I would’ve liked or within the timing I would’ve preferred but His ways and His timing are always better then mine.

    The message you gave yesterday really spoke to me. It’s no coincidence that God times your messages as if they were written specifically for me. He knows my needs always.

  2. March 28, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    Amen, Debbie. I love your testimony re: the ways of God and our need to submit to them. Thanks for your honesty and encouragement.

  3. Jane
    March 28, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    I love this as God is definitely fixing the fix in me. It took me some time to realize that it isn’t the other person that needs the fix but me that needs the fix. First, I must get out of denial that I don’t have any problems. Then I can ask God to fix or transform me.

    And just for a little chuckle, can you say that fix statement fast 3 times. It will tongue tie you.

  4. March 29, 2011 at 6:38 am

    Awesome, Jane!

    I’ll have to try the tongue twister. Pretty funny …

  5. Patricia Fabre
    March 29, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    This is very true for me. Every time I would come to you and pastor Steve with questions you guys would say God is not a God of confusion … and I would get confused. God has been working that out in me for the past year. I would pray about friends, jobs, etc… open and closed doors … then My friend said “We want what God has for Patricia, that she would do what You want and have for her” which wasn’t what I was asking for … and I did what God said and God changed my heart. Thanks for sharing your blog…

  6. Dave
    March 30, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    This is so true!!! In December of 2006 I was in a life rut and I prayed to God that he make me the man, father and husband he wanted me to be. I remember this as if it was yesterday. In January 2007 my wife asked for a separation which lead to divorce. I by no means blame this on God. I take full responsibility for my own actions. But this life-changing event led me to counseling and into a closer relationship with God. Even though this was the hardest thing I had ever gone through it made me a better father to my daughters, a better husband to a future wife and a closer relationship to my God. I’m not finished yet but I have a good start. Thanks!!!

  7. Saundra Roth
    April 2, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    When I first heard you say those words, I didn’t really hear them till you repeated them and it really spoke to me. I am learning to trust in God.

    For years I thought I would be happier if God just saved Jeff. Well He did and guess what, I wasn’t any happier!! Not that “I” was in any fix but me trying to “Fix” my husband put me in a “fix” … a non-joyous one. I am learning (as always) To Let God Have Me, and not to worry about anyone else, the only person I can change is me (with the grace of God of course). The only Person who can truly make me happy is My Lord Jesus Christ. I Thank my Lord for you, Bill, you have always been faithful to Him and a great teacher to me.

  8. April 2, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Dave, my heart breaks to hear your story, but I’m so glad that you’ve chosen the course you’re on. Eternity is closer than we think! And then we’ll not even remember the pain, only share in His glory!

  9. April 2, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    I appreciate your comments, Saundra … coming from the heart of a sojourner, one who is jes’ passin’ through; and from the heart of a growing disciple!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

