Home > Devotional, Eternal Things, God's Grace > Where Does God Live?

Where Does God Live?

Back in my school days, one of the passages that we were required to memorize was this one in Isaiah 57:15.

“For thus says the High and Lofty One Who inhabits eternity, whose name is Holy: ‘I dwell in the high and holy place, with him who has a contrite and humble spirit, to revive the spirit of the humble, and to revive the heart of the contrite ones.’”

The Lord is Holy. The Lord inhabits eternity. Yet He dwells with any person possessing a humble and contrite spirit. This is where He chooses to live.

He doesn’t leave the humble or contrite person in that condition, however; He revives the spirit of the humble, and He revives the heart of the contrite.

He nourishes up, He preserves, He makes alive, He quickens, He recovers, He repairs, He restores to life, He revives—He makes their spirits and hearts whole.

I have to confess to Him that I often don’t know how to humble myself. It ought to be easy for me, but it’s not. I often forget the need I have to admit the needs I have. I must admit even this to God … with sorrow.

The idea and reality of a humble God is incredible to me. He humbles Himself to live with humble and broken people.

That’s the man I want to be, and it’s the man I need to be.

“Father, I come to You as a needy man. I wish I could tell You that I always remember Your infinite greatness, and how small and weak I really am. But I don’t always remember. I come to You in weakness, not in strength. I come to Your throne of grace to obtain Your mercy. Thank You for your everlasting patience with me, Father. Thank You for your commitment to work in me to will and do Your good pleasure. Thank You for being willing to live with me. In Jesus’ name. Amen.”

  1. Linda "Just Joe" Perryman
    January 26, 2011 at 10:20 am

    Ahhhh, that is good news for the soul, Brother. Both the Scripture and the personal application!

    With your permission, I’d like to share portions of it with 4 precious women I have met recently, all of whom have lost their life-partners in the past 12 months. It is on my heart to make a special Valentine greeting for each them in the next couple of weeks, and I would love to include some of this content with their personalized cards.

    With much love to you and your darling Bride, Linda & “My Joe.”

  2. January 27, 2011 at 7:58 am

    Dear Linda,

    I’m so glad that passage fed your soul! Yes, of course feel free to use any or all of it for the glory of God!

    We love you guys. Stay blessed!

  3. Jocelyne
    January 27, 2011 at 8:23 am

    I had never thought of that either… isn’t that unbelievable! Makes me want to lay down whatever pride I still cling to, right now… just so He can come closer… Thank you for this!

  4. Amy Lindsay
    January 27, 2011 at 10:34 am

    Ohhh my my heart echoes your prayer (except of course the being a man part). Thank you Jesus!

  5. Jane Fikes
    January 27, 2011 at 11:02 am

    Thank you for this reminder. I also forget about humbling myself. But I am truly grateful and blessed to have a God that loves me enough that He is willing to live in me and help me to repair my brokenness. Thank you Jesus.

  6. Vince Trujillo
    January 27, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Thanks for this, Pastor Bill … a blessing for sure, especially for those who serve and wish to serve God.

  7. Mark Russo
    January 27, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    I took a hot tub tonight and looked up at the stars and immediately the Holy Spirit brought to my remembrance Psalm 8. I was overwhelmed with gratitude and praise and a humble spirit. I checked my e-mail a little later and got this. Wow! I’ll take that as a word from the Lord!

    Amen & Amen Bill!

    “When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him? O LORD, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth”
    (Psalms 8:3,4 & 9).

  8. TOM MAMBO
    March 2, 2011 at 2:27 am

    Wow ! That’s a blessing ! God bless you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

