Home > God's Purposes, Jesus Christ, Ministry, Wisdom > On Burning the Qur’an

On Burning the Qur’an

Dear Readers,

Greetings in Jesus’ mighty and gracious name!

On Wednesday (9/8/10) night I made reference to the FL pastor who had made plans to burn copies of the Qur’an on September 11. It was a stupid, ill-advised, narrow, and short-sighted thing to even think about for a Christian pastor, not to mention actually plan to do.

At any rate, we’re very glad that he didn’t carry out this foolish plan. Somehow, he was able to listen to reason.

I dropped in on Facebook for a few moments this afternoon, and Dr. Jamil Nasir popped up in the chat window. Dr. Nasir is a bold, anointed minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ in Pakistan. He preaches Christ—crucified and risen … and is known in Pakistan for his love for the Muslim people.

The Lord had laid Dr. Nasir on my heart as I drove to the church office this morning. I sensed that he would be having a meeting just about that time (it was 5:45 am our time, 5:45 pm Pakistan time). I began to pray for boldness for Dr. Nasir, for protection, and for anointing to preach the Word of God.

I’m going to include here the actual text of our chat session (he asked me to write about it). The part I want to draw your attention to concerns the effect in Pakistan of a Qur’an burning here in the U.S. I’m sure the same would have been true in other Muslim majority countries.

________________________________________________________________________

Jamil

hello brother Bill

This is Dr. Jamil Nasir from pakistan

1:26pm Me

Hello Dr. Jamil!

1:27pm Jamil

I am very Happy to see you this time

1:27pm Me

I’m just settling down to continue my studies in Revelation 13 for Sunday AM.

Great to see you too. I like the way you are using FB to spread the word about Pakistan.

1:28pm Jamil

to night we have open air convantion under the havey secourty

1:28pm Me

I prayed for you specifically this morning. Did you have a meeting this night?

(His answer was “yes”)

That’s exactly what I thought, and I’m sure why the Lord laid you on my heart for prayer.

1:28pm Jamil

thanks

meet is over

1:28pm Me

How did the meeting go?

1:29pm Jamil

and we are safed

1:29pm Me

Praise the Lord for your safety!

1:30pm Jamil

to night we have not much people because USA Pastor siad {said} that he will burn the Quran , and muslam people are very much angest {against} with us and they said if he will burn the Quran we will burn the churches in Pakistan

so that’s why local polic {police} give us havey secorty {security} for the worship and by the grace of God it’s over now ,

one thing is this , may muslam people hear the world of God in this meeting

1:32pm Me

I was very upset and angry about what that Florida pastor was trying to do. I prayed that he would stop. He’s the pastor of a church of 50 people. He has no voice, but he decided to do this thing.

I’m so glad you’re safe, and I’m so glad the Word of God is spreading.

Jamil

yes sir we need your prayers

1:33pm Me

Hopefully now that this Florida pastor has decided not to burn the Koran, things will calm down a little bit.

Jamil

can you chak your wall now

1:34pm Me

I’ll do that. God bless you, Dr. Nasir! I’ll chat with you later. Bye.

________________________________________________________________________

Amazing, eh? The potential effect of a Qur’an burning would have been huge and disastrous. Churches would be burned, Christians beaten and killed, and of course (as President Obama and General Petraeus stated) our military stationed in Muslim countries would face grave danger beyond the kind of danger they experience every day.

In contrast to the intended actions of this FL pastor is the clear statement of God’s Word:

Colossians 4:2-6  Continue earnestly in prayer, being vigilant in it with thanksgiving; {3} meanwhile praying also for us, that God would open to us a door for the word, to speak the mystery of Christ, for which I am also in chains, {4} that I may make it manifest, as I ought to speak. {5} Walk in wisdom toward those who are outside, redeeming the time. {6} Let your speech always be with grace, seasoned with salt, that you may know how you ought to answer each one.

We are lovers of Jesus, lovers of other human beings, proponents of the gospel, and full of good works, by which we glorify the Father in heaven. We are not haters of anyone, nor are we burners of the Qur’an. Again, we’re to be known for what we’re for rather than for what we’re against. Love is the mark of the Christian (Colossians 3:14).

I thought you’d be interested in this “conversation” with Dr. Nasir, as it’s germane to the current events of our day.

Stay blessed!

In Christ,

Bill Holdridge

  1. September 11, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Agreed! This pastor’s response is surely not what Jesus would do, or have us do.

    However, it seems to me that the media shares complicity in this act, by their choosing to give this man attention. They decide all the time what they will give attention to and what they will simply ignore. In my view, they made this a huge deal by the attention they gave to it. And I do not for one minute think that they did not know exactly what they were doing.

  2. September 12, 2010 at 4:29 am

    Excellent point, Judi. I agree.

    Yet we who are in the ministry need to realize the media’s motives and tactics, and be wise as serpents while remaining as harmless as doves.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

