Home > Bible Study, Devotional, Psalm 119 Devotional > Longing of a Desperate Soul

Longing of a Desperate Soul

Psalms 119:25 My soul clings to the dust; revive me according to Your word. {26} I have declared my ways, and You answered me; teach me Your statutes. {27} Make me understand the way of Your precepts; so shall I meditate on Your wondrous works. {28} My soul melts from heaviness; strengthen me according to Your word. {29} Remove from me the way of lying, and grant me Your law graciously. {30} I have chosen the way of truth; Your judgments I have laid before me. {31} I cling to Your testimonies; O LORD, do not put me to shame! {32} I will run the course of Your commandments, for You shall enlarge my heart.

When one prays for personal revival, he is acknowledging that something has been lost that once was. What had been life has become lifelessness. The soul has reached its lowest place, at the bottom—in the place of spiritual and emotional desperation.

The prayer to be offered is a simple one, yet powerful—“Revive me according to Your word.”

Note that many words are unnecessary when the heart is in earnest. The Lord will hear, and act upon, this desperate plea. Such a prayer is consistent with His nature, therefore is in His will. And when we pray according to His will, we have the assurance that He hears us (1 John 5:14-15). As a friend puts it, we may have taken 1,000 steps away from God, but there is only one step back.

What will be the agent of revival? It will be God’s Word, illuminated to our hearts by the Spirit of God.

“…teach me Your statutes. Make me understand the way of Your precepts.”

“…strengthen me according to Your word.”

“I will run the course of Your commandments, for You shall enlarge my heart.”

Personally, I need revival every day. Since God dispenses His mercies for living in 24-hour increments (Lamentations 3:22-23), I need to open my heart to the Spirit’s work, open God’s word, and let Him have His way within me. He will be specific and will correctly diagnose the problem. Then He will provide the cure (Hebrews 4:12; Psalm 119:32).

Remember, only that which has life can be revived. The French word “revivre” is similar to the word revival. Its meaning is to live again. That’s the idea here. When one has received the life of the Son of God through faith in Him (1 John 5:12), he/she is truly alive. When that same soul suffers a period of decline, there is still life within, but the life is no longer being experienced. It has become dormant, like a plant in winter. It needs to live once more, as it had in the past. There is, therefore, hope. Spring can come again, the rains can return and the sunshine can provide its strength. That’s what happens in revival. Dormant believers sprout to life again.

The need for the unbeliever is a different one. That person needs to be born a second time. He needs to receive the Divine life, which can only come by trusting in the completed work of Jesus Christ upon the cross for our sins, and in His resurrection from the dead. Jesus suffered for our sinfulness, and was raised that He might justify us. The unbeliever cannot pray for revival, because he is not yet alive. But he can pray to receive Christ, who will give Him life.

John 1:12-13  But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, to those who believe in His name: who were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.

Have you prayed to receive Christ, and to be forgiven of your sins? If not, why not do it now?

Revival. It is vital in this present age for true believers to be revived. Others are depending upon it.

  1. Amy Patch-Lindsay
    June 15, 2010 at 8:57 am

    Bill I cannot tell you how much I needed this today! This is the prayer of my heart and I am in desperate need of revival.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

