Home > Bible Study, Devotional, Psalm 119 Devotional > Dependence Upon Grace to Keep God’s Word

Dependence Upon Grace to Keep God’s Word

Psalms 119:17  Deal bountifully with Your servant, that I may live and keep Your word. {18} Open my eyes, that I may see wondrous things from Your law. {19} I am a stranger in the earth; do not hide Your commandments from me. {20} My soul breaks with longing for Your judgments at all times. {21} You rebuke the proud; the cursed, who stray from Your commandments. {22} Remove from me reproach and contempt, for I have kept Your testimonies. {23} Princes also sit and speak against me, but Your servant meditates on Your statutes. {24} Your testimonies also are my delight and my counselors.

Notice the prayers in this third section of Psalm 119 (each verse beginning with the Hebrew letter gimel).

“Deal bountifully with Your servant.”

“Open my eyes.”

“Do not hide Your commandments from me.”

“Remove from me reproach and contempt.”

These are all prayers of dependence … prayers that are calling out to God and His grace to bring His blessing, power, and presence into the psalmist’s walk with God.

Oh, how we need the grace of God!

G.R.A.C.E.: God’s Riches At Christ’s Expense.

Grace: God’s favor (undeserved) upon those who have believed.

Through the gospel of Christ, we not only have a righteous standing with God which has ended the separation between us and Him, resulting in peace with God, but we also stand in the position of grace with God. In other words, our lives are saturated with the unending, eternal flow of God’s favor. He keeps it coming; the river of grace never dries up. And according to Romans 5:2, we have access to the experience of this grace each and every time we need it, by faith.

Romans 5:1-2  Therefore, having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, {2} through whom also we have access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God.

To finish out the psalmist’s prayers in this section, we observe that God’s grace in dealing bountifully with him will enable him to live and keep God’s word (v. 17). God’s grace in opening his eyes will enable him to see wondrous things from God’s law (v. 18).

Again, even though he was living in the Old Covenant days, the psalmist understood the concept of grace. Even more can we who live in the New.

This grace of God flowing into our lives gives us the passion we see here:

v. 20-  “My soul breaks with longing for Your judgments at all times.”

v. 23-  “Princes also sit and speak against me, but Your servant meditates on Your statutes.”

v. 24-  “Your testimonies also are my delight and my counselors.”

Again, we live (in and by Christ), therefore we do. He is at work within us both to will (desire, want) and to do His good pleasure (Philippians 2:13).

Believer, don’t ever forget the sanctifying, empowering, exhilarating grace of God in your life!

  1. Jane
    June 5, 2010 at 7:28 am

    “I am a stranger in the earth; do not hide Your commandments from me.”……One of my favorite scriptures and a daily plea. When the Heavens seem silent it is so challenging. (I often repeat, “I know God does not play a shell-game with me!”) I search, (scour), the scriptures at those times. I wait upon Him. I confess I am not as patient as I ought to be! Often I do feel the reality that this world is not my home and I long for HIS CLEAR instruction and guidance, immediately, for the here and now. Those alone-times with HIM become my all in all. How grateful I am for God’s good grace and patience with my impatience.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

