Home > Bible Study, Devotional > Seeking God in a Dry and Thirsty Land

Seeking God in a Dry and Thirsty Land

Let’s take a look at Psalm 63, a major Biblical encouragement for spending time daily with the Lord in personal communion with Him. Since Jesus Christ defined eternal life as knowing God the Father and the Son (John 17:3), we ought to pursue the knowledge of the Lord with great anticipation and earnest.

Thanks for reading.

In Christ,

Bill Holdridge

______________________________

Psalm 63
A Psalm of David when he was in the wilderness of Judah.

1     O God, You are my God;
Early will I seek You;
My soul thirsts for You;
My flesh longs for You
In a dry and thirsty land
Where there is no water.
2     So I have looked for You in the sanctuary,
To see Your power and Your glory.
3     Because Your lovingkindness is better than life,
My lips shall praise You.
4     Thus I will bless You while I live;
I will lift up my hands in Your name.
5     My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness,
And my mouth shall praise You with joyful lips.
6     When I remember You on my bed,
I meditate on You in the night watches.
7     Because You have been my help,
Therefore in the shadow of Your wings I will rejoice.
8     My soul follows close behind You;
Your right hand upholds me.
9     But those who seek my life, to destroy it,
Shall go into the lower parts of the earth.
10   They shall fall by the sword;
They shall be a portion for jackals.
11   But the king shall rejoice in God;
Everyone who swears by Him shall glory;
But the mouth of those who speak lies shall be stopped.

Here’s an outline of the psalm:

David’s Passion to Seek the LORD (vs. 1-2)

The Foundation of David’s Worship: the Lovingkindness of Yahweh (vs. 3-5)

Particulars of David’s Spiritual Life (vs. 6-8)

Judgment Upon David’s Enemies (vs. 9-11)

Comments:

David “owned” his relationship with the Lord. For him, it was very personal. God was his God. Because of this intimate personal connection, David sought the Lord early … when the sun rises and the morning appears; and diligently (as a merchant seeks after fine pearls or other suitable commodities).

His passion for the Lord was like passion for water in the desert. His whole body longed for God.

This had been David’s history with the Lord – when he was in Jerusalem he looked for Him in the sanctuary, in the temple. Now that he’s in the wilderness, he still seeks the Lord the way he did while in comfort and ease. In fact, David learned the habit and necessity of doing so way back when…

David was a man who knew God’s covenant love and mercy (which is the meaning of the word translated “lovingkindness” in this passage). He’d experienced it, in public and in private. In fact, it was God’s love for him that motivated him to seek the Lord.

The same is true for us.

Remember?

We love Him because He first loved us (1 John 4:19). For the true believer, it all starts with the cross, where God demonstrated His love for us (John 3:16; Romans 5:8). Jesus paid it all … therefore all to Him we owe. The who has received from the Lord very naturally desires to give back to Him.

Application:

1.  How would you gauge your own spiritual hunger and thirst at this time in your life? Are you in the habit of rising early and eagerly each day, in order to seek the Lord?

2.  Recall times you have spend in the desert. How have your times in the sanctuary helped you endure times of great trial and difficulty?

3.  Meditate upon the love of God for you personally, as demonstrated at Calvary. Ask the Father to grant you the Holy Spirit’s witness to your heart that you are loved by Him (Romans 8:15-17).

Categories: Bible Study, Devotional
  1. Jack Price
    March 25, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Pastor Bill,
    This is a great Psalm and speaks of David’s hunger and passion for God. I find it good for my spirit and soul to read the Psalms out loud to myself in my morning prayer times. There is something about repeating the Psalms and making them personal for yourself and gets you connected to God the Father.

  2. Barbara Reagan
    March 25, 2010 at 8:32 am

    Pastor Bill,
    Jesus said this to me last night as I tried to sleep! I was trying to listen to sighs of David, Pastor Nate so descriptively spoke of them a few weeks ago at church. I could feel them. The blessing your writing brings to this morning is immense and truely a conversation God is speaking to each of us in such a time as this. I pray all will hear it, know it, live it. And now thanks to your writing READ it. God Bless you!

  3. March 25, 2010 at 8:36 am

    Thanks for the suggestion, Jack… I’m sure it will be helpful to many who will read your comment. God bless you!

  4. March 25, 2010 at 8:37 am

    Barbara, I’m glad the Spirit has confirmed and strengthened your search for God! Thank you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

