Home > Devotional, God's Purposes > Kill Bill

Kill Bill

The other day I was involved in a prayer and share time with several other pastors. We prayed for each other, and as we did, I was the last one prayed for.

One of the pastor’s prayers for me went like this: “Father, I ask you to fill Bill.”

Immediately my mind was activated, my thinking stirred. For some reason I thought of a couple of other “_­­____ Bill” statements.

When we finished praying, I announced what they were. “Brothers” I said, “I received three thoughts from our prayer time together:

‘Kill Bill.’ (None of us have seen the movie, and don’t plan to.)

‘Chill, Bill!’

‘Fill Bill.'”

These three statements are the summary of what I need in my life!

Kill Bill

1 Corinthians 15:31 I affirm, by the boasting in you which I have in Christ Jesus our Lord, I die daily.

Romans 8:13 For if you live according to the flesh you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live.

Chill, Bill!

Psalms 27:14 Wait on the LORD; be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart; wait, I say, on the LORD!

Matthew 11:28 “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.”

Fill Bill

Ephesians 5:18 And do not be drunk with wine, in which is dissipation; but be filled with the Spirit…

Luke 11:13 “If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask Him!”

What These Things Mean

The life of the flesh must die. Daily.

I must wait for the Lord to fulfill His plan in my life, and trust Him to bring it to pass on a daily basis.

I need the Holy Spirit to empower me … that I might live for God.

Three simple phrases, made up of six words. Amazing how they can encompass an entire life’s needs.

Thanks for reading.

  1. Laurie Gash
    February 1, 2010 at 11:18 am

    AMEN!! Thanks so much, I am receiving so much from these. May the Lord richly bless you and your family/ministry by His Grace, Laurie Gash

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

