Home > Bible Study, God's Grace, Wisdom > How God Deals With Our Sins (2 Samuel 12)

How God Deals With Our Sins (2 Samuel 12)

God and DavidIt is clear to me that the David of 2 Samuel 11 was an imposter. He was not the real David. The real David was a man after God’s own heart. This imposter-David was a man who let down his guard and stumbled into sin … he was overtaken in a fault(s), very grievous and serious ones.

So how does the Lord deal with David? How does He treat the sweet psalmist of Israel, the nation’s greatest king?

I invite you to listen to the study and find out. It’s a hard story, but one with lots of mercy and grace. In fact, all the major attributes of God’s name and character are on display in this chapter … His mercy, graciousness, longsuffering, truthfulness, forgiveness, justice, and discipline (see Exodus 34:5-7).

The story becomes a template for the way God deals with us in our sins, and a lesson in the nature of God.

God bless you as you study God’s Word.

http://www.billholdridge.com/2 Samuel/2_Samuel_12.mp3

Thanks for reading and listening.

In Christ,

Bill Holdridge

P.S. If anyone would like to receive the notes that go with this study, please email me at billholdridge@gmail.com.

  1. Jane
    November 16, 2009 at 9:31 am

    With much sincere respect and thankfulness for your teaching I must, again, put forth a query….

    My very first inclination when listening to your description of David’s sin was to ascribe to it the very same label you applied to others……”LAME” Your rationalization of David’s sin was to conclude that this was not the “real David”. Indeed, I believe it was! My point is that David was equally real when he honored and followed God as he was when he defied God and sinned. There is no comfort for me in knowing that somehow he was mystically transformed and absolved of any reality while he was sinning. All of this is a bit of a mystery. There is a mystery involved in the fact that we can be saved, transformed and cleansed and STILL SIN. It is a quandary. One which Paul spoke of. I do not, however, think Paul thought of himself as less real when he was doing “what he did not want to do” then he did when he was doing what God wanted him to. How convenient for all of us. I would dearly love to simply go before God and say, “Gee, God, I’m so sorry. I was simply not ‘my true self’ this day.” That does not work for me. I take much more solace in the reality that though MY SIN IS REAL, AND I AM FULLY MYSELF WHEN I COMMIT IT, IT IS REALLY FORGIVEN. I somehow feel it diminishes the impact if my sin is somehow attributable to an “impostor”, and then forgiven.

    I acknowledge that this was NOT the pattern of David’s life and he, undoubtedly, did more good then bad, but this does not relieve him of ownership of his actions. I realize you are not “letting him off the hook” for his sin, but it could be interpreted that there is an “excuse” being given.

    Am I wrong in this?

    Thank your for your patience with my ever-questioning mind!

  2. November 16, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Hi Jane,

    Thanks for your thoughtful and heartfelt reaction and response.

    I certainly wasn’t suggesting that David was relieved of the ownership of his actions … I spent time reviewing part of Psalm 51 in the study to demonstrate that fact.

    Rather than provide an excuse for David, I want to provide hope for today’s believer. Sin is an anomaly, not an inevitability. We have the ability to walk in the Spirit these days, and thus not carry out the desires of the flesh. When God views the believer in Christ, He is not seeing us as we often see ourselves. He sees the deposit of Himself in us, the righteousness of Christ, and the presence of His Spirit within. He sees what we need to see ourselves … the only true thing about us … and that is Christ in us, the hope of glory.

    Anyway, I completely understand your reaction to my comments, and in fact I agree with the objection!

    Here in my response to you (and also to Peggy) I am attempting to show my purpose in writing such a controversial thing. Again, I’m glad you’re thinking these things through.

  3. Jane
    November 16, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    While I have fully acknowledged the fact that “God views the deposit of Himself in me, the righteousness of Christ, and the presence of His Spirit within me”, I seem to repeatedly trip over this truth. I sometimes think I have known very little real forgiveness in my life and perhaps, therefore, have some difficulty totally embracing this fact of my proper standing in Christ. It is overwhelming when I consider that HE does not see me as I see myself.

    I wonder…… if sin is not an inevitability then why is it committed so OFTEN? You say it is an anomaly, (rarity). I wish it were more rare for me! For I KNOW myself…..and this irony is SO TRUE….the closer I walk with My Lord, the more aware I become of just how sinful I am!

    In re-reading the entirety of the Romans passages, (Your response to Peggy), I found more help. Especially: {17} But now, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me and {20} Now if I do what I will not to do, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me. Yet I still hold to the enigma….. throughout, Paul remained the real Paul, and David remained the real David, while allowing sin to control them. (Sorry, perhaps I am stubborn, too!)

    This teaching HAS provided me with more hope. But, as always, I want my hope to be solid, not wishful….. Hope in HIM, as you wrote, “that is Christ in us, the hope of glory.” And I have an abiding need to be “real” with HIM…..at all times and in all ways.

    Thank you for your help. I better understand your purpose and direction. And, possibly more importantly, I appreciate and receive your desire to provide that HOPE.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

