Home > Bible Study, Wisdom > When a Righteous Man Falls

When a Righteous Man Falls

davidandbathshebaThis message breaks my heart … because the man in this story was not the real king David. The real king David was a man after God’s own heart. Yet, David fell.

If you want to gain wisdom concerning how to avoid temptation and to strengthen yourself against sin, then I invite you to listen in to this study in 2 Samuel 11. The title of the message is “When a Righteous Man Falls.”

http://www.billholdridge.com/2 Samuel/2_Samuel_11.mp3

Feedback will be welcomed. God bless you.

In Christ,

Bill Holdridge

Categories: Bible Study, Wisdom
  1. Peggy
    November 16, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Greetings!

    My synapses just won’t fire to that place of being able to receive this one point only, with regard to both of the good messages on King David’s identity, both in and out of sin…and that is, that he was not himself, but an imposter, when he was in sin. So, I was thinking, why belabor a point if the meat of the message stands clear…because the thought won’t leave me that David was indeed David, whether he was in sin or not…whether he was abiding in the Vine or in sin and “falling short” of the Vine…and, that I need to know that for my own identity stance, I am still the righteousness of Christ, purchased at a price, whether I fail His grace or not…and I fail frequently, though, by grace, am growing, too.

    It stands to my reason that if what happened, happened, and was real, and David did sin with Bathsheba, then, at that time, that was the real David.
    What happened was real, and it was the real David at that point in time…the same for each of us who choose to stray from the covering of redemption…sin is in our flesh nature…we are still on planet earth with the prince of the power of the air having his time…until we are again in perfect fellowship with our Maker in Heaven…sin is real, we are real when we sin…I believe that was the real David, until such a time as he confessed and repented, then, he was forgiven, covered, restored to fellowship with God, and under grace…but until that time, the real David was the “sin of lust/adultery” David.

    God is no respecter of persons, He loves each of His own…His Word demonstrates wisdom toward us in the lives of those portrayed in Scripture; and, was not King David both…a sinner saved by grace, as well as being a man after God’s own heart, as we were all created to be, yet, also a sinner, because sin entered the world, and “all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God”?

    I am more edified by knowing the status/example God gives to King David in the Scriptures as “a man after God’s own heart” along with knowing David sinned and found redemption and restoration of that fellowship status by confession and repentance…I need to know how it works for my life…and in the manifold story(ies) of David, I surely do see how God works…and this edifies me as my walk “down here” can be fraught with temptation and sin…if I think of King David’s only purpose in Scripture to be an example of one after God’s own heart, and that all other information written about him to be written about “an imposter”, well…you get my drift, and yes, I realize that in attempting to explain my heart on this, I may be adrift, because perhaps, you meant something that was so evident to all other readers and that I am the one stumbling on mere words…like the Proverbs state…and I realize I am using more than a few words.

    So, thanks for reading, sign me, looking for clarity in my spirit by the Spirit, knowing it will come,

    Peggy

  2. November 16, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Hi Peggy!

    I’m glad you’re being a Berean, and thinking these things through. I’m glad the concept I referred to in my intro to the study created a pause in you.

    Of course, the heart and meat of the message is that David sinned against the Lord. He fully recognized that, and took full responsibility for it. As should we, when and if we sin. Repentance is necessary, and consequences are inevitable.

    Having said that, when the true believer sins, it is sin within him that is the culprit … so in a very real sense, the “real” person (i.e. the regenerate person, indwelt by the Holy Spirit) is not the one doing the sinning.

    Romans 7:16-17 If, then, I do what I will not to do, I agree with the law that it is good. {17} But now, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me.

    Romans 7:19-20 For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice. {20} Now if I do what I will not to do, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me.

    Experientially, David was operating in the new covenant before there was such a thing. He was a man after God’s own heart.

    What I want folks to see is that as believers, sin is an aberration and not a necessity. Of the following statements, the last one is the only one that’s true.

    I am not able to sin.

    I am not able not to sin.

    I am able not to sin.

    Blessings to you!

  3. Peggy
    November 16, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    It’s lofty, but I’m receiving it, believing it, and sensing a well spring of joy here…and it began the moment my eyes hit upon Romans 7:20, and all surrounding text of the chapter…worth printing out here…the Holy Spirit touched me deeply here: (and by the way, THANK YOU for gracing your reply with the term “Berean” toward me, when what I saw was linear thinking on my part! I was blessed by your response, and the blessing still pours forth)

    Romans 7
    1Know ye not, brethren, (for I speak to them that know the law,) how that the law hath dominion over a man as long as he liveth?

    2For the woman which hath an husband is bound by the law to her husband so long as he liveth; but if the husband be dead, she is loosed from the law of her husband.

    3So then if, while her husband liveth, she be married to another man, she shall be called an adulteress: but if her husband be dead, she is free from that law; so that she is no adulteress, though she be married to another man.

    4Wherefore, my brethren, ye also are become dead to the law by the body of Christ; that ye should be married to another, even to him who is raised from the dead, that we should bring forth fruit unto God.

    5For when we were in the flesh, the motions of sins, which were by the law, did work in our members to bring forth fruit unto death.

    6But now we are delivered from the law, that being dead wherein we were held; that we should serve in newness of spirit, and not in the oldness of the letter.

    7What shall we say then? Is the law sin? God forbid. Nay, I had not known sin, but by the law: for I had not known lust, except the law had said, Thou shalt not covet.

    8But sin, taking occasion by the commandment, wrought in me all manner of concupiscence. For without the law sin was dead.

    9For I was alive without the law once: but when the commandment came, sin revived, and I died.

    10And the commandment, which was ordained to life, I found to be unto death.

    11For sin, taking occasion by the commandment, deceived me, and by it slew me.

    12Wherefore the law is holy, and the commandment holy, and just, and good.

    13Was then that which is good made death unto me? God forbid. But sin, that it might appear sin, working death in me by that which is good; that sin by the commandment might become exceeding sinful.

    14For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin.

    15For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I.

    16If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good.

    17Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.

    18For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not.

    19For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do.

    20Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.

    21I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me.

    22For I delight in the law of God after the inward man:

    23But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.

    24O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death?

    25I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.

    I really AM the righteousness of Christ, having become a Spirit indwelled being when I received Jesus as my Saviour…WOW…how awesome is THAT? It’s not just that God sees me as the righteousness of Christ, I really AM, by faith, and by the death and resurrection power of Jesus Christ…

    I can be such a linear thinker…I needed help to get off of my “line of thinking” and cross over to another one…wow again, thanks be to God…thanks again, Pastor Bill, for calling me “Berean”!

    I’m sailing in my spirit with the realization, which has been deeply buried under condemnation, that I am able not to sin, and righteous in God’s sight…oh, Love Divine All Loves Excelling…That is God’s Love for us…

    Thanks again!

    Peggy (shining more brightly in advanced “New Creature-dom” thinking)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

