Home > Bible Study, Devotional, James Devotional, Wisdom > James – Friday, April 10

James – Friday, April 10

distorted_truth_addJAMES 5:19-20

My brothers, if one of you should wander from the truth and someone should bring him back, remember this: Whoever turns a sinner from the error of his way will save him from death and cover over a multitude of sins.

It’s important to be perfectly clear about this point: it’s possible for a true believer to wander from the truth (cf. Matthew 24:4, 1 Corinthians 6:9-11, 1 Corinthians 15:33, Galatians 6:7, Colossians 2:8).

The Greek word for “wander” is planao, which also means to be deceived, seduced, or to go astray. When a believer wanders from the truth, it’s vital to bring him back. When he’s brought back, he’s brought back to the truth! Therefore, one’s relationship to the truth is the issue. This implies that there is such a thing as objective, verifiable truth.

The opposite of truth is lies. Living according to lies produces death (spiritual, emotional, and perhaps even physical). Living according to truth produces life. Many sins are avoided when one errant believer comes back to his senses and resumes believing and living the truth that is in Christ.

Daily Devotional Book • James Application Questions

1. Who do you know right now that is in danger of wandering from the truth? Jot down their name(s) as the Lord brings them to your mind.

2. Take the time right now to pray the Lord’s prayer. Focus particularly on “Your kingdom come, Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven” (Matthew 6:10). Pray for the kingdom of God to come to those you’ve listed in question #1. Thank God for hearing your prayer.

3. As you pray for them begin asking the Lord what He would have you do to help bring him/her back.

  1. Peggy
    April 10, 2009 at 7:59 am

    In this believer’s journey, the truth of James 5:19 and 20 is being walked out, lived out, and has been tried and found true, in a plethora of ways. Yet currently, the Lord is having me walk out these verses toward another believer that has left the Truth of Jesus Christ and listened to the father of lies, the adversary, Satan, and is suffering greatly because of it.

    Several weeks ago, while in prayer for this person, the Holy Spirit brought to mind these exact two verses that comprise our study today. The enemy began the barrage of lies toward me with, “who are you to try to bring anyone back…who do you think you are…” and the condemnation line of attack was put in to place. But the full armor of God, which the Holy Spirit prompts me to pray on daily, even before my feet touch the floor of a morning, and praying the scriptures, too numerous to mention but mostly praying for my thoughts to be taken captive to Christ and to be subject only to obedience to Him along with my forever plea for the Holy Spirit to “bind truth to my heart and mind”, were the weapons of my warfare through Jesus Christ and the enemy’s stronghold was broken and God lead me on. He brought me in the power of His love alongside of this person in thought, word and deed. He showed me exactly what to do and how to do it and His Word holds and teaches each thought, word and deed. The Holy Spirit gave me the words to pray, the letters to write, the conversations for counsel…and I’m waiting on the Lord for His outcome in this person as I continue to pray they would yield to the Holy Spirit. It has been and continues to be, a work of the Good Shepherd to bring one of His own back in to His flock for safekeeping and for all of the good plans He has for them to come to fruition. He has given me rest because I know that it is not through my power or might that anything can change in this person’s life, but only by the Holy Spirit of God. I know that I need not strive for any outcome, I rest in knowing that I am being obedient, and that is enough. I am learning so much along the way. As I pray for this person, God would never have me come to them as “and now, I’m here to help you” but rather, as I pray for the repair and return to the Truth in their life, I pray for my own life to continue to be repaired and brought under the blood of the Lamb and for more and more of God’s Truths to be made manifest in my own life. I am finding my own moments of healing and wisdom as God ministers to this person through my mouth and hands. We are His instruments. It is humbling, and even as I type that the enemy is yelling that I am being a pride filled Christian simply for sharing that. NO, I say to you all…let God be glorified. When we see His hand at work through our obedience, we share this among the Body of Christ and they can learn and become edified because of this testimony. God be praised!

    God teaches us to come alongside one another in love to admonish. I need practice in this. I’m getting it. I need other believers to come alongside me and admonish me when they see my own errant ways being chosen. Iron sharpening iron. It is imperative for our growing in grace and maturity in Christ.

    One time, one among several, a long while ago, I was erring from the Truth. Years later, I asked a brother, a sideline witness to it all, “why” he did not correct me, and he said, “because I did not think you would listen” and I was absolutely broken over that response. I was so wounded. It took me a very long time to forgive him; I wanted to blame him for years lost in my walk with my Lord. And it was not the right line of thinking at all. But I learned so much from that exchange. Again, the enemy’s line of attack was to have me wonder about all that I probably missed because this person did not “correct” me, as the Word tells us to do. It was very difficult for me to hand that one over to the Lord, and confess my anger and unforgiveness and release this situation, and this person, to God. I believe I have done so. Yet God is able to use that situation for His good, right now, in such a time as this, because of my own experience. God is SO able. He is SO out for our GOOD. Now I am that “sideline witness” and God is asking me, leading me, to step off of the sidelines and in to this straying person’s life.

    I love what Pastor Chuck Smith once said in teaching about the enemy, and how so often, Pastor Chuck witnesses a complete FLIP of what the enemy had intended for evil FLIPPING over for GOOD. Just a complete 180 reversal…this is like that…the enemy wants me back there brooding over “the lost time” and to remain in anger and unforgiveness toward one that did not come alongside me. God wants it ALL behind the plow, no looking back, and hence shows me the way to take the knowledge from that lesson and just walk it out toward the Body of Christ. He is such a perfect Parent.

    Brothers and Sisters, I pray that you will NEVER be convinced that you are not able to come alongside an erring Christian Family member. I pray the truth of these verses we study today will be life changing in your spirt in that you know that you know that you know that because God has given this instruction to us, WE CAN, THROUGH HIM, USE IT, DO IT, and change the life of another believer, and yes, perhaps even save them from a myriad of sin consequences, even death. No thing is too hard for the Lord. There are so many Christians falling away to false teachings in these days and I pray for conviction and courage for each of us to stand up on the solid Rock of Christ Jesus, King of Kings, and Lord of Lords. We belong to Him, and His ways are sure and true. These verses today, are sure, and are true, for all of us.

    Please pray for this person the Lord has placed in my path, to come back to their first Love, Jesus Christ.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

