Home > Bible Study, Devotional, James Devotional, Wisdom > James – Tuesday, March 31

James – Tuesday, March 31

judgebroJAMES 4:11-12

Brothers, do not slander one another. Anyone who speaks against his brother or judges him speaks against the law and judges it. When you judge the law, you are not keeping it, but sitting in judgment on it. There is only one Lawgiver and Judge, the one who is able to save and destroy. But you—who are you to judge your neighbor?

Our speech concerning our brothers and sisters in Christ is very important. We are not to slander each other … ever. In other words, we are not to speak evil of or against another believer.

If/when we slander another believer, we are placing ourselves above God’s law (i.e. His law of love- Romans 13:8-10). In essence, we are saying that the law itself is not sufficient; that we are the ones who must set the record straight about our Christian brother or sister.

This behavior ignores the fact that there is only one Lawgiver and Judge—God Himself. We must not disrespect Him by attempting to assume His role, because it’s a role only He is qualified to have.

Daily Devotional Book • James Application Questions

1. What are some of the ways we easily fall into this sin? How have you fallen into this sin in the past?

2. If slander is to speak against someone, what would be its opposite? What would that look like?

3. Make it a point to compliment or praise someone today, either in person or to someone else.

  1. Peggy
    March 31, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    I want to share this poem written by a brother in Christ, S. Lyles (6/11/95).

    It is called:
    He Saw Me Criticize My Neighbor

    He saw me criticize my neighbor.
    He saw me backstab my close friend.
    He saw me judge so harshly:
    Time and time again.

    He saw me build a jury box
    And put them all on the stand.
    But in my mind they stood guilty
    Before the trial began.

    Within the walls of my courtroom,
    Much hatred did abound.
    Until an innocent Lamb stepped forward
    And turned the trial around.

    By the love in His eyes
    I perceived the depth of my sin.
    The guilty shame that I must now bear,
    The prison I was in.

    When the verdict came I shuddered.
    I tuned away from His holy face.
    Then I heard Him say to me,
    “I came to take your place.”

    When the reality of His mercy
    Finally hit my heart,
    I made a promise to the Lord
    To make a brand new start.

    I unlocked all the jail cells.
    I closed the books on each case.
    I gave the mercy He gave to me
    And said, “He died to take your place.”

    I tore down my courtroom.
    I built a table in its place.
    And I said to each prisoner,
    “Come feast on amazing grace.”
    ______________________________
    Galatians 6:10 says:
    As we have therefore opportunity,
    let us do good unto all men, especially unto them who are of the household of faith.

  2. April 1, 2009 at 11:05 am

    Peggy,

    Thank you so much for that. This poem perfectly states the heart of the passage in James.

    You have added to my arsenal, and to the book that has been written containing this devotional.

    Blessings to you.

    Bill

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

