Home > Bible Study, Devotional, James Devotional, Wisdom > James – Monday, March 23

James – Monday, March 23

abraham-isaac2JAMES 2:20-26

You foolish man, do you want evidence that faith without deeds is useless? Was not our ancestor Abraham considered righteous for what he did when he offered his son Isaac on the altar? You see that his faith and his actions were working together, and his faith was made complete by what he did. And the scripture was fulfilled that says, “Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness,” and he was called God’s friend. You see that a person is justified by what he does and not by faith alone. In the same way, was not even Rahab the prostitute considered righteous for what she did when she gave lodging to the spies and sent them off in a different direction? As the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without deeds is dead.

Apart from what we do, it’s impossible to prove that a person has true faith. Our actions prove that we really trust God.

Abraham was justified by faith before God in Genesis 15:1-6. But when he obeyed and trusted God in the offering of Isaac in Genesis 22, his faith was proved. We watch Abraham up on the mount with his only son and we marvel. “What faith this man had!” we say to ourselves.

Hebrews 11:17-19 tells us of the intensity of Abraham’s faith—that Abraham believed that God would raise Isaac from the dead if he had to carry out that unthinkable deed.

Rahab also had faith, but when she hid the two spies so they could scout out the city of Jericho, she was putting her own life in danger. She believed God thoroughly, and her deeds proved it (Joshua 2:1-24).

James does not contradict the Biblical doctrine of justification by faith before God (Genesis 15:6; Romans 3:21-4:25). He’s simply showing that real faith becomes visible before men by what we do. He’s talking about faith that works.

Daily Devotional Book • James Application Questions

1. Read Romans 4:1-8, then re-read this morning’s passage. Do you see how Paul’s emphasis differs from that of James, but that they are complimentary to each other and not contradictory?

2. Sometimes we hear people say something like this: “What I believe is a very private thing, very personal. It’s just between me and God.” Do you agree with that statement? Disagree? What does today’s passage have to say about it?

3. How/when have you proved your faith so that others could see that you truly trust God? Cite examples from your own life.

  1. Amy Lindsay
    March 25, 2009 at 6:35 am

    Greetings beloved of the Lord-
    I know I have written in your past blog about the Lord healing my body of fibromyalsia but I would like to share a recent conversation that I had with an extended family member about it.

    A couple months ago I recieved a phone call and we played phone tag for a while, lol. Needless to say we finally got to chat, she too had been diagnosed with fibromyalsia. When I sit and think of it I can remember the constant all over body pain, fatigue, depression and so much more that comes along with it.

    She wanted to know what helped me? My first question to her was, “Do you believe in the power of Jesus Christ?” her response was yes. She was a believer but out of fellowship & not in the Word for quite a while. So we talked about the practical things that aided in my daily life; food, sleep, things to stay away from, the Word of God ect…

    As our conversation came round to the Lord healing my body she wanted to know the miracle cure or miracle prayer. My heart sank. I then prayed silently in my heart for the words to speak to her. I told her of the Word of God and how in other ways it had impacted & changed my life. I shared with her how as I read the entire Bible for the first time and coming across James 5. I shared with her that it was my obedience to the Word of God, believing that He could heal me and His prompting for me to walk forward to be annointed and prayed over. I explained that I had done it twice before and I was not healed but when the Lord prompted me that 3rd and final time and obeyed even though I was reluctant I took those steps of faith.

    It was about His timing and His glory alone! I encouraged her to get into the Word, to get back into fellowship. I do believe that He holds all power in His hands to do it instintaniously but I believe that in my heart of hearts that I would not have given Him the glory, that the awe and fear I have of HIm would not be what it is. Just as Abraham knew that the only way he was going to come down that mountain with Isaac was by the Hand of God I knew that the only way to live life without constant pain was by the Hand of God.

    I still pray for her everyday and ask for God’s grace and mercy upon her and her body. Faith in action is such a powerful thing, literally living out what you believe of Him and in Him! I am so glad that in my case that there was no miracle cure!

    Blessings!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

