Home > Bible Study, Devotional, James Devotional, Wisdom > James – Tuesday, March 17

James – Tuesday, March 17

authenticlargeJAMES 1:26-27

If anyone considers himself religious and yet does not keep a tight rein on his tongue, he deceives himself and his religion is worthless. Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.

James must have made a regular study of the book of Proverbs, because his emphasis on the use of the tongue jives so well with that book. In fact, the book of James has been called the Proverbs of the New Testament.

Those who fail to control their tongue are self-deceived, and their religious lifestyle is useless—the reason being that our words can so easily cancel out our actions.

The kind of religion that our heavenly Father acknowledges is a humble religion. Two examples of humble religion are the care of orphans and widows in their pressures of life, and the living of a life wholly set apart to God.

Daily Devotional Book • James Application Questions

1. What does it mean to “keep a tight rein” on our tongue? How specifically do we do that?

2. Take a close look at your “religion.” Does it include inconspicuous acts of kindness and help for others? If so, in what ways? If your answer is “no,” then how might you start doing these things?

3. Take time to pray, asking God to make you a man or woman who lives set apart to Him, in a way that He accepts and acknowledges.

  1. Peggy
    March 17, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Glory to God! Thanks be to God! Our hearts are being filled with His good Truth and we are feasting during this enriching study of God’s Word from the book of James, to be sure. A continuing thanks to Pastor Bill for being the willing vessel pouring forth that which the Lord has for us in this devotional!

    The continuing correlation between Proverbs and James has struck deep chords in my thinking. Proverbs continually cries, “get wisdom, get understanding” and James, right off the bat in the opening verses, tells us to ask for wisdom in faith, believing we will receive it, for God grants it liberally. And James tells us that we will have trials and that we are to persevere and rejoice, even, during these trials. I’ve come to believe that the refinement path to wisdom has been paved with trial, yet James exhorts us as believers in Christ to rejoice! I don’t know about any of you who may be reading this response, but for me, I surely have come to know that it takes a wisdom far and above any this world has to offer in order to rejoice during a trial! I want the wisdom that is from above! My banner these days proclaims, “Get wisdom, persevere during trials with thanksgiving and the joy of the Lord will be your strength! Receive God’s love and His wisdom will be made manifest in you and glorify Him!”

    Today’s first devotional question asks what it means to keep a tight rein on my tongue and goes on to inquire how I might do that…God’s Word has shown me thus:

    The first Scripture that came to my mind in response was that ever sobering passage in Proverbs 18:21: “Death and life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.”

    Matthew 12:34b, and 35-37

    “For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh.”

    “A good man out of the good treasure of the heart bringeth forth good things: and an evil man out of the evil treasure bringeth forth evil things. But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment. For by thy words thou shalt be justified, and by thy words thou shalt be condemned.”

    I Corinthians 2:12-13: “Now we have received not the spirit of the world, but the spirit which is of God: that we might know the things that are freely given to us of God. Which things also we speak, not in the words which man’s wisdom teaches, but which the Holy Ghost teaches; comparing spiritual things with spiritual.”

    II Corinthians 10:5: “Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ.”

    Proverbs 16:3: “Commit thy works unto the Lord, and thy thoughts shall be established.”

    I believe that in order to keep a tight rein on my tongue I must keep my thought life in order…what I am devising (thinking) in my heart will indeed pour forth, “for as a man thinketh in his heart, so is he…” (Proverbs 23:7).

    I must pray to commit my works to God, so that my thoughts will be established. And I must keep the Word coming in and active in my thoughts; keeping a rich supply of that treasure in my thinking…

    The Scripture verse I pray the absolute most often is indeed II Cor. 10:5 and I do ask God to take my thoughts captive and I want to put on the mind of Christ and not have vain imaginings which give the enemy a foothold in to my thought life…I want my thoughts established, obedient to Christ, and bringing forth the good fruits of Godly wisdom (see James 3:17).

    As God has changed my thinking, He, by the power of His Holy Spirit, has indeed changed my words. Believe it or not, there are less of them! Less idle chatter, more Truth from Him…praise God!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

