Home > Bible Study, Devotional, James Devotional, Wisdom > James – Friday, March 13

James – Friday, March 13

be-slow-2-speak-copy1JAMES 1:19-20

My dear brothers, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires.

It has been said that God gave us two ears and one mouth for a reason—that we should spend twice as much time listening as we do talking. There’s much truth in this pithy statement.

The fact is, much of the relational trouble we experience comes from our failure to take the time to truly hear what is being said. This is true of us when we take in a Bible study and fail to tune in to God’s voice, or when we’re in prayer, or when we’re in conversation with another human being.

Not only that, we are way too quick to speak. Oftentimes, we are formulating our response before the other person is even finished with their sentence. Even worse, we interrupt them while they’re still speaking!

These things contribute toward ungodly anger. Without truly hearing another person, we tend to react before we truly understand, out of our emotions. This kind of anger is borne out of frustration, impatience, misunderstanding, or unjust judgment. This anger stems directly from lack of listening and impulsive speech. This kind of anger is not consistent with the life God has called us to live.

Daily Devotional Book • James Application Questions

1. What is your tendency with God? Do you spend time listening to Him? Are you quick to hear and learn from Him?

2. How about your tendency with others? Do you speak before you have heard what they’ve said? How good of a listener are you? Are others able to share their hearts with you? Be honest as you write out your thoughts about yourself in these areas.

3. List any specific areas in your life which provoke an unhealthy, ungodly anger within you. What is the origin or cause of such anger? As you list them, ask the Holy Spirit to lead you to Bible truth that will help you deal with the source of such anger.

  1. Kevin G.
    March 12, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    Perfect Gifts from God

    1. His Word

    2. His Spirit

    3. His Salvation

    4. His Love ?

    (1 Cor. 13:10 “but when perfection comes the imperfect disappears”

    and

    1 John 4:18 “there is no fear in love, because perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.”)

    I am searching for understanding about these verses and would appreciate insight regarding them. Is there such thing as perfect love other than His Love for us and the love that we have for him through the Spirit? What does that mean? “but when perfection comes the imperfect disappears”? Is there a broader application other than Jesus is that perfection? Am I missing out on something? What does that mean “The one who fears is not made perfect in love.”?

    Thanks for your responses

    Kevin G.

  2. Amy Lindsay
    March 13, 2009 at 7:58 am

    Kevin, I believe that God’s love is encapsulated totally in the person of Jesus Christ.
    1 Corinthians 1-13 the only name that I found I can be put there is Jesus’ for in my finite being I cannot fulfill even one of these things apart from Him doing it in and through me (my flesh is not capable). When I read this portion of scripture I always put Jesus’ name where the word love is and then it makes so much sense to me and encourages me to know Him deeper and fills me with awe and wonder. If I try and put my name (or anyone elses name for that matter) there I get so discouraged because I fail at these daily it seems.

    In verse 9 it say,
    “For we know in part and we prophesy in part.
    verse 10:
    “But that when that which is perfect (Jesus) has come then that which is in part will be done away with.” ……………..
    verse12:
    “For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then face to face. (Oh how I long for that day!) Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I also am known.”
    When Jesus comes there will be no need for prophesy and when He comes oh the understanding He will bring, I laugh sometimes that my head will just pop from what understanding He will bring (I cannot wait til He expounds the scriptures for me starting with Moses, as He did for those on the road to Emmaus, Luke 24:13-27). Gods plan from the foundations of the world, God’s purpose for me here on this earth, the full depth of the scriptures….. all those things that we as humans truly only see dimly but when Jesus comes we will get to see the whole picture. And know as I am also know (for He knows everything there is to know about me)
    i pray that I am not way off course

    As for 1 John 4:18 this is how I read that…
    “there is no fear in Jesus; but perfect Jesus casts out fear, because fear involves torment (Jesus’ love never involves torment. He died to save us from torment and judgment) but he who fears has not been made perfect in love (my salvation is secure in the finished work of Jesus Christs’ life, death and ressurection).

    verse 17 says:
    Love (Jesus) had been perfected among us in this: that we may have boldness in the day of judgement (trusting in His finished work); because as He is, so are we in this world.

    Kevin I dont know if I made any sense at all but I will pray that the Lord give you understand for these verses (gonna pray that for me too!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

