Home > Bible Study, Devotional, James Devotional, Wisdom > James – Weekend Review (March 7-8)

James – Weekend Review (March 7-8)

week-review

WEEK IN REVIEW (March 2-6)

1. List at least three valuable insights and timeless truths you’ve gained this week.

2. List any commitments and adjustments you are making as you are convicted by the Word of God.

3. Write out your prayer of adoration, confession, thanksgiving and supplication.

  1. Peggy
    March 9, 2009 at 8:38 am

    I just realized that “the dog ate my homework” doesn’t fly here in online learning environs … and I’m glad of it, because taking some “still and quiet” time with our Lord this day to find the answers to the week in review questions is something I am looking SO forward to.

    I’m full of thankfulness for this study, and praise to God for His precious Word and His faithful servants.

  2. Jane
    March 10, 2009 at 6:35 am

    As always when in God’s Word, I’ve learned so many things.

    I learned how to more honestly examine, identify and admit my own “short circuiting” of the effects of trials in my life.

    I learned that it is vitally important that when I confess these propensities to go on my own “Tarshish voyage” I do so with an attitude of conviction, NOT CONDEMNATION. For the condemnation always leads me further into the abyss the enemy wants for me.

    I learned that it has to be considered in context when we glibly pull out the “But- when- he- asks-, he- must- believe- and- not- doubt- phrase.” Long, long have I heard this used to imply that God would grant us ANYTHING WE WANT if we simply ask without doubting. When, in fact, it clearly indicates that God will give us wisdom, (a God-honoring request), when we ask without doubting that He is able and willing to provide us with that.

    I learned that while it is true that God will bring us back into the classroom of learning a lesson that we have willfully short-circuited time and time again, HE will also bring us back even when we respond appropriately, (John 15- “He prunes the branches that do bear fruit so they will produce even more”) … in order to further hone our ability to respond well. This is to HIS glory and for our edification and that of those saints who are in need of assistance.

    Oh, I’m so much in need of assistance. Daily. I believe I echo another when I say, “ah, there’s the flesh again…. always hating the pain!”

    I hate the pain. I struggle with the ability to stay in the refining fire, without attempting to lessen it or decrease the pain level. He knows my frame. He knows it is excruciating at times. And confounding at others. Lord, help me to “lie gently burning in Your Refiner’s fire and whirl patiently on Your Potter’s wheel, though my brain should reel.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

