Home > Bible Study, Devotional, James Devotional, Wisdom > James – Friday, March 6

James – Friday, March 6

richpoorJAMES 1:9-11

The brother in humble circumstances ought to take pride in his high position. But the one who is rich should take pride in his low position, because he will pass away like a wild flower. For the sun rises with scorching heat and withers the plant; its blossom falls and its beauty is destroyed. In the same way, the rich man will fade away even while he goes about his business.

The brother in humble circumstances is a true believer who has little or nothing in terms of material possessions or social status.

The rich is a reference to a true believer who has much—materially or socially.

The brother in humble circumstances is to glory (or boast, rejoice) in his high position … in the fact that one day, he will be with Jesus Christ, and will be spending eternity with Him in a glorified state.

The rich man is to rejoice or glory in low position. All that he has now will burn up and fade away with him; nothing in this life is permanent or will be taken with him into eternity. As someone has said, there will be no U-Haul behind a Hearse. All that we have and all we’ve done passes away the day our life here on earth comes to an end.

It is just as Job so wisely stated, ‘Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart’ (Job 1:21a). It is in these things that the rich man rejoices.

Daily Devotional Book • James Application Questions

1. The thing we take pride in, that in which we rejoice, whatever we boast about—has a lot to say about what we value the most. As you consider your future and what you hope to accomplish in your life, what do your goals say about your value system?

2. Consider how short our lives actually are. What does the brevity (shortness) of life say to you with regard to how you should live the rest of your life?

3. Read the parable of the rich fool in Luke 12:16-21. What priority does making money and obtaining wealth have in your plans? What ought to be your right priorities?

  1. kathleen mccoy
    March 5, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    The test? The true test…after suffering and loss, your value system completely turns upside-down! Poverty, or lack of funds forces you to think about the things that are most important to you…God and relationships with others. You become more sensitive to others who are suffering around you and you long to help and love them.

    When your realize your time is short on earth and you can lose everything at any moment…you cherish more. Cherish the gifts God has given you. (Knowing He can allow them to be taken away at any time.) You love more. You prioritize more. Also, because even in this short life, things can feel pretty heavy at times. You realize you are not in control of your circustances…you learn to give yourself and others a lot more grace. This life is too short to stay mad, and in heaven we won’t be mad at ourselves or each other anyway! So, GRACE AND PEACE TO YOU ALL!! Now I know why Paul wrote that at the beginning of his letters all the time. There’s no time to waste…especially in the body of Christ! Grace! Grace!

    Trusting God, I believe, should be the priority. Even though, I confess, it’s hard to do when His answer to your desperate prayer is, “no”. Hanging on to your faith…perservering…

    Rev. 3: 8 I know all the things you do, and I have opened a door for you that no one can shut. YOU HAVE LITTLE STRENGTH, yet you obeyed my word and did not deny Me……

    vs. 10 Because you have obeyed My command to perservere, I will protect you form the great time of testing that will come upon the whole world to test those who belong to this world.

    vs. 11 Look, I am coming quickly! Hold on to what you have, so that no one will take away your crown!

    In heaven, the poor will be rich and the rich will be poor! The last will be first and the first will be last! Those who mourn will rejoice and those who take life for granted will mourn! Those who are hungry will be filled and those who are filled (with the world) will be hungry…..etc…etc…

    …..that will be Heaven….

  2. Amy Lindsay
    March 6, 2009 at 8:48 am

    Greetings beloved of the Lord-

    I praise the Lord for poverty in my life, for it is when I saught Him most deeply, depended wholly, saught Him desperately and my vision was very clear. It was also during those times that I saw His heart so profoundly (through Him speaking and through the words and actions of His saints) and that is where He striped away some of those things that I thought I needed to have to feel secure (more to go).

    I too believe that when you go through times like that that He does change your priorities. I like to use the word baffle and it would sum up how I feel about how quickly “things” can grow in importance in our lives and pretty soon those “things” clutter and overwhelm the truly important.

    This is kind of a silly example but very profound in my life. We as a family have had some beyond hard times where if it were not for the love of Jesus and His saints we would have been homeless and starving. Prior to this time in our life I would stock pile food (I know you are laughing, I too laugh) after all that is what I was taught by my grandmother and mother. If WWIII were to happen you could live for years on their pantries (I would find myself saying,”They are on sale lets buy 9″ when truly I only needed 1). I had this security in knowing I would be okay if my pantry was stock piled. Way wrong place to have any security. Needless to say panic ensued in my life as my pantry dwindeled to nothing, literally had nothing.

    When I finally surrendered my panic and leaned into the Lord, O what a difference. I am so glad that I journal because I went back and read and saw how He ministered to me! Here are a couple of the verses that the Lord used:

    Matt 6:24, 25-34
    Luke 18:18-30
    James 4:13-15

    Not only did He minister to my heart in amazing ways, change my life in major ways but He provided all!

    So what have I learned? That I forget to look at the small and the seemingly insignificant “things” in my life and how much security I really place there. That stiped bare, ONLY Jesus will & can provide and how fastly those “things” come and go in my life. That those 8 extra “what evers that were on sale” could have provided for His people around the world instead of collecting dust just to make me feel secure.

    To this day as I am walking into the store to buy groceries I remind myself of His provision & faithfulness, He has provided my husband with an amazing job and through that I/we are to be good stewards. I plan meals and buy for only the weeks worth of food and I try to avoid like the plague the center ilses (I shop in a square at the store, lol).

    I feel really silly with this whole thing but what the Lord continually is showing me is reliance, reminding myself that I am given time in 24 hour incriments, and only He knows the number of my days.

    Sorry for the babblings but many blessings in Christ name!

  3. Peggy
    March 9, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Paul writes to the Philippians in chapter 3 verses 7-10:

    “But what things were gain to me, those I counted loss for Christ. Yea, doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ, and be found in Him, not having mine own righteousness, which is of the law, but that which is through the faith of Christ, the righteousness of God by faith: that I may know Him, and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings…”

    My spirit responds to all that I see typed, and I thank God for the beloved saints in Him.

    May Amy know that her words are far from “babblings” to my eyes and the ears of my soul…she bespeaks the beautiful path of a pilgrim who so loves Jesus, and her words are His encouragement, His love, His light, and His wisdom.

    Praise God.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

