Home > Bible Study, Devotional, James Devotional, Wisdom > James – Tuesday, March 3

James – Tuesday, March 3

trial-faith2JAMES 1:2-4

Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

James’ addressees are Jewish believers in Messiah. We know they are believers because he refers to them as brothers.

As believers in Christ, we live a radically different kind of life, a life which is the polar opposite of the way of the world around us. An example of this difference is in the way we deal with our trials.

The word “trials” is the Greek word peirasmos, which can refer to something that tests us, or something that tempts us. In this context, James is using it to mean those things that test us—things that are very difficult for us.

For example, Jesus went through many kinds of trials as He lived in the flesh (Luke 22:28). These trials included extreme weariness, homelessness, abandonment by others, rejection, ridicule, misunderstanding, and ultimately the sufferings of the cross.

The apostle Paul experienced trials due to the plotting of unbelieving Jews against him (Acts 20:19). Later, Paul mentioned his fleshly trial, which was apparently a physical challenge relating to his eyesight (Galatians 4:14).

We believers are to consider it pure joy when we fall into various trials. Rather than run from them or get bummed out about them, we’re to rejoice in them, by faith. This is a major part of Christian life, and must be learned if we are to be mature believers.

Daily Devotional Book • James Application Questions

1. Have you experienced the principle of rejoicing in trials? If so, think of an example. What took place? What was the “trigger” that caused you to rejoice?

2. What kind of pressures, difficulties, or pain have you had to endure most recently? How have you specifically dealt with them?

3. Close today’s devotion in prayer. Ask the Father to give you wisdom in your trials, and make a commitment to trust the Holy Spirit to help you with a godly perspective and response toward what you’re dealing with right now.

  1. Amy Lindsay
    March 2, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    I so needed to read this today, Praise the Lord! I have faced major trials and found pure joy & been able to rejoice in Him! It is the small trials that seem to baffle me and find hardest to find that joy. Oh Lord that I would relinquish the small and not to try in my own strength to fix &/or figure out. Thank you for this sweet food for thought! May I chew and chew!

  2. Jayme Ringer
    March 2, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    Throughout my life I have faced some pretty hard knocks. But God has been faithful and brought me through all of them. By the world’s standards I should be locked up in a mental hospital or on high doses of Prozac….but God alone has delivered me from the snare of the enemy. I can’t help but praise Him daily for the things He’s brought me through.

    One thing I have learned … and it is one of the toughest things sometimes … is that when I am going through a trial…I begin to pray more for others. I have found that when I get my eyes off of my trials and problems and begin to speak words of faith and truth to those in need … I begin to see my problems and trials melt like wax.

    The verse that sustains me a lot is Proverbs 3:5-6: Trust in the Lord with all your heart … lean not on your own understanding, but in ALL your ways, acknowledge Him and He will direct your path. The key is in the first 3 words. We don’t always understand and sometimes we never understand God’s ways … but if we fully TRUST in Him … He is faithful to his word of directing our path. Praise be to the Lord.

  3. Rick Carmona
    March 3, 2009 at 6:06 am

    I recently just lost my job and my last day is this Friday. The Lord has and will provide and He brought me to that point in the dessert 5 years ago where I came to that wonderful freeing part of my life when I cried out “Lord, you are all that matters, take everything that is not of you.” So the news of the layoff last week was not devastating but I did wake up in th early morning last week I felt that deep rooted fear & anxiousness. I confessed it and quickly began to worship the Lord and what the Lord revealed to me was Matt 6:25-31. My inclination to worry was robbing God of his Glory. Wow, I was floored and ever so thankful that the Lord has made this super clear. Praise the Lord, he is indeed worthy of our praises for being such a faithful and loving God!! Amen and Amen!

  4. Peggy
    March 3, 2009 at 9:46 am

    If it is allowable by Godly blog etiquette standards, may I simply share the blessing I have received through the typed words of my brothers and sisters in Christ, even though we’ve not met this side of heaven:

    The blessing from Amy of: “Oh Lord that I would relinquish the small and not to try in my own strength to fix &/or figure out.”

    The blessing from Rick: “My inclination to worry was robbing God of his Glory.”

    The blessing from Jayme: “when I am going through a trial…I begin to pray more for others.”

    All of these words have struck that place of Holy Spirit led conviction in my soul; thank you, all of you, and God bless you…

  5. Missy Alcazar
    March 3, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    Amen and Amen! Thank you all for sharing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

