Home > Bible Study, Devotional, James Devotional, Wisdom > James – Monday, March 2

James – Monday, March 2

james1JAMES 1:1

James, a servant of God and of the Lord Jesus Christ, to the twelve tribes scattered among the nations: Greetings.

This opening salutation acknowledges that James is the author of this epistle. He calls himself a servant of the Lord Jesus Christ. The Greek word he used was doulos, which meant a slave by choice—someone who loved his master and chose to serve him forever, on his master’s terms (see Exodus 21:1-6 for an example).

The doulos loved his master, because his master had first loved him (see 1 John 4:19). In the New Testament sense, the doulos is one whose life has been rescued and touched by the grace of God in Christ.

Daily Devotional Book • James Application Questions

1. In consideration of the concept of a doulos, take a look at Romans 12:1. What is the connection between God’s mercies (toward us) and the presentation of our bodies to God as a living sacrifice?

2. Have you recognized and experienced the love of the Lord Jesus Christ in your own life? If so, how do you know He loves you? If not, what is keeping you from knowing and experiencing God’s love for you?

3. Have you made a commitment to Jesus Christ as your Master? What are a few of the areas of your life that are still not subject to His control?

  1. March 2, 2009 at 12:58 am

    This was awesome Pastor, thank you and I look forward to these daily devotionals. The consumability was just right, short but challenging. Praise the Lord!

  2. Peggy
    March 2, 2009 at 7:41 am

    The watering of the Word, which is how my spirit interprets this nourishing study time…is precious.
    When I was a “gentlewoman farmer” some time ago in Marin County, CA, I would get home after a long day of commuting and working in SF and my gardens would be drooping beneath a hot afternoon sun…I quickly raced for the watering cans and the sprinklers and gave everything a drink and then about an hour later, the plants would be restored to their uprightness; their strength renewed, their cell structure restored, their growth process continuing accordingly…I always found my gardening time to be some of my best loved time with our Lord…it may be eight degrees below zero this morning in Michigan now, but in my soul, God’s Holy Spirit is watering, watering, restoring and bringing me to Him…I need Him every moment of every day, and I love to study His Word, His “watering ways”; how thankful I am this day for the watering from James…we begin with a sprinkling, and I believe by day 40 we will have all received a very, very, thorough watering…my prayer for those of us going through this devotional was to ask God for everything listed in the “background to James – important topics list” …thanks be to God…

  3. Amy Lindsay
    March 2, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    The awl has been placed, my life is sealed and my heart given away!

  4. Laura Wright
    March 2, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

    I just love how God uses you. This is such a good study for such a time as this. I’ve asked a couple of friends to join me … like a small group. I’m eager to see what God will do in, to and through us. All for His glory!

    God bless you Bill!

  5. Jayme Ringer
    March 2, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    When I see the words: “which is your reasonable service” I think of how truly unworthy I am had it not been for the shed blood of Christ … and my heart wants to go beyond “my reasonable service” … for it is the least that I can do in light of what He did for me.

    Thanks for the devotional … I am looking forward to it.

    Blessings…
    —jayme

    He must increase, but I must decrease.
    —John 3:30

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

