Home > Jesus Christ > The Faith of Blind Bartimaeus

The Faith of Blind Bartimaeus

BartimaeusConsider with me the story of blind Bartimaeus. He stands out because of Jesus’ statement to him, “Your faith has made you well.”

The story is found in Mark 10:46-52.

My thinking is, if this man’s faith was responsible for a very dramatic and miraculous healing, I better find out the ingredients of that faith.

What are those ingredients?

First of all, he’d heard the word of God. He couldn’t see Jesus or what He’d been doing and teaching, he could only hear about these things—from others, obviously. For Bartimaeus, his faith came as Paul would write later to the Romans: “faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God” (Romans 10:17).

Secondly, he drew conclusions about Jesus from what he’d heard. I perceive two conclusions from the story; he believed that Jesus was the Son of David (i.e., the Messiah; and he knew that He could and would have mercy upon him. Therefore he acted on those conclusions, and went to Jesus just as we go to God’s throne of grace to obtain mercy for ourselves:

“Seeing then that we have a great High Priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession. For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need” (Hebrews 4:14-16).

That’s what Bartimaeus did. Knowing Jesus to be the Messiah, he cried out to Him for mercy, realizing that His throne is one of grace, not judgment.

Thirdly, Bartimaeus’ faith was persistent and individual. He was the only one who thought he should be crying out to Jesus as he did. Others wanted him to hush up, but he was not willing to listen to them. He was focused on seeking the Lord. He would not be deterred in his pursuit.

The Lord does that with each of us, too. He creates situations for us that require us to call upon Him alone. It’s just between Jesus and me. No one else can interrupt that communion, and perhaps no one else will even understand it. But when the desire comes as a result of persistent prayer, it is so, so sweet. Jesus did it for me!

We go to the throne of grace, and we come away having received God’s mercy. Wonderful.

Fourth, his faith was specific. When Jesus asked him what he wanted Him to do for him, he asked boldly and in a straightforward manner: “Lord, that I may receive my sight.” He wanted to see again, plain and simple. And because it was within Jesus’ will for his life, his request was granted.

I want to see, too. I once was blind. But Jesus spoke to me as He did to Bartimaeus that day. Therefore, now I see. I never want to lose the amazing gift of spiritual sight. (“Lord, keep me pure and in Your Word.”)

“I once was lost, but now I’m found; was blind, but now I see!”

Bartimaeus’ faith did not end when he received his sight, though… by faith, he continued to follow Jesus on the road.

“For you are all sons of God through faith in Christ Jesus” (Galatians 3:26).

Bartimaeus speaks to me today… his faith is awesome, squarely founded upon the Person of Jesus Christ Himself.

Amen?

Categories: Jesus Christ
  1. Amy Lindsay
    December 19, 2008 at 9:02 am

    Oh how this blog hits home! I am crying as I type. As I look back on my walk with the Lord I see so many times He has done the same in my life. From sitting and listening to you 2x a week for 6 mo. and hearing His Word and seeing His work in the saints around me before my cry out for salvation. To Him physically healing my body of fibromyalsia. Hearing His word and reading James 5 and then taking those steps to Him. To Him preserving me and baffling my Dr.’s when I almost internally bled to death and my cry to Him when I literally was all alone in the operating room at 4am. I have at times asked Him why Lord do you heal me and not others because believe me I feel the least worthy. But then He brings me back down to earth and reminds me that it is not about me but all about His glory and His will!! What a great reminder for me because I oft times wonder why sometimes my faith does not instantly fix something, but this reminds me that it is my faith in action and obedience to Him and His word. My heart is over flowing and rejoicing. When I was a new born babe in Christ the Lord gave me 1 Sam. 12:24 and I never really understood it, but now Oh my, how can I not love and serve Him. He brought me out of the pit of despair, from death to life, from absolute blindness to heavenly sight! My life is but a standing stone for all to see Him and Him alone! Blessings 🙂

  2. Amy Lindsay
    December 23, 2008 at 8:56 am

    I was in prep to get ready to fly out and trying to remember the thousand things to do and I thought of Bartimaeus. With this Christmas and all the excitement, and gift giving. My heart desires to be close to the One that it is all about. I reread the faith of Bartimaeus and pondering my own faith, then realizing that it was not my faith at all but His. He is the author and finisher of my faith. Anything good I have is because of Him. I think of all the miracles in my life and how He has changed my life and I see that in each of them it was like coming face to face with him, so real and yet I found it surprisingly peaceful. I wish that I could live each moment like that but I find in this body of death so difficult. I have always had this fear of seeing Him because I know what type of human being I am and that I would have to stand before a Holy God. But the truth is He knows me, my mind, my heart and the intent thereof. He died upon the cross knowing it all about me and died anyway to save me. My entire life, my choices, thoughts, and actions. With all the condemnation I forgot to remind myself of the faithfulness of God, because in those moments when I was face to face with Him it was nothing to be scared of, only peace that I dont even think I could put into words. He has dramatically changed my heart with His sweet love. I long for heaven and to live in that constant peace with the only One who can. This Christmas may He make us all like Bartimaeus, that we all seek, shout out, ask and follow the only One worthy.

  3. December 23, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Amy,

    You have captured the heart of the gospel of grace. Through our faith in Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross and resurrection from the dead, we are justified.

    But the Lord does not stop there. Along with justifying us, He works in us by His own life—for the purpose of replicating that life in our own.

    That is what He’s doing in you, my sweet sister. God bless you, and grant you and your family a wonderful Christmas and fruitful New Year.

    In Christ,
    Bill

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

