Home > Eternal Things, Jesus Christ > Can’t Wait for Heaven

Can’t Wait for Heaven

revelationchart1

I can’t wait for heaven… what I mean by that is, I am really excited for it to come, sort of like the way I couldn’t wait for Disneyland when I was a kid. Thankfully, my tastes have matured somewhat and I am more deeply looking forward to eternity than I was the Matterhorn or Fantasyland.

I recently read Revelation again with my wife. I’ve taught the book, I’ve read and re-read it, I’ve memorized portions of it, I’ve even listened to it on tape or CD. But everytime I come to chapters 19-22 I am thrilled all over again at what God has in store for His universe and for true believers.

I recommend the reading of this book. Don’t be afraid. It’s the only book in the Bible that specifically promises blessing to those who read and keep its words. It will do your soul good to realize that this life is not all there is. There’s an eternal existence to live for right now.

I know that in many churches, they won’t touch the book of Revelation with a ten-foot pole. Too hard to understand, they say. Too controversial, others chime in.

But listen: it’s the revelation of Jesus Christ, not the hiding of Jesus Christ. It’s easy to understand, if one keeps the main idea in mind. The testimony of Jesus is the spirit of prophecy (Rev. 19:10). In other words, it’s all about Him and His kingdom. The Lamb of God has become the Lion of the tribe of Judah. He is King Jesus.

Don’t you love Him?

  1. kathleen mccoy
    December 16, 2008 at 9:33 am

    Yes, I love Him! Your blog was timely and encouraging. I’m glad for the opportunity to celebrate Jesus this time of year. If it wasn’t for Him, I would probably be in the hospital for the insane. This is the most stressful and discouraging time of year because of the suffering and sadness of having to spend the holidays without loved ones and on top of that, the pressure to make everyone happy and beautiful. I’ve had 5 old friends, (4 of them my age,…Willa was 64yrs.), pass away during these holidays. 4 of them to cancer. Every time a loved one goes home it just makes me long for heaven even more…(you know that excitement…Seeing Jesus, the great reunion, the wedding party, experiencing love so pure, never having to say good-bye ever again,…and on and on) So many things to look forward to! Bill, thanks for the wonderful reminder. People like me need to hear the Good News often. Living without loved ones is difficult. But, being reminded of Jesus’s future plans is comforting. God bless you and Sheri!

  2. Amy Lindsay
    December 16, 2008 at 10:35 am

    I too long for that day with utter anticipation. The more I look around the more I see it’s approach and the more my heart sings. I have often at times pondered about Heaven and I know that there will be no need of the sun for He will be all the light, I wonder if we will feel the warmth of Him. Or if it will be more intense and more powerful than just the warmth of His rays. I know that I am His in every fiber of my being and cannot wait to see Him face to face. I have oft times wondered what I would say to Him, but the more and more I think about it, I dont think I will have to say anything. He already knows my heart and the intent there of, the best part is that I will know Him as He is known. All those questions, wonderings and even sometimes doubt will all be answered in an instant. Praise be to God in the Highest! Keeping my eyes lifted and my bags packed 🙂

  3. Sharon
    December 17, 2008 at 12:54 am

    All I want is for Him to wink at me

  4. Peggy
    December 17, 2008 at 7:40 am

    Revelling in Revelation! How can we not respond to your query, Pastor Bill? Yes, we love Jesus, and are blessed to be asked! We, too, are currently “revelling in the book of Revelation” because yes, it is the Revelation of Jesus Christ, AND, we are reading it together of an evening by the fireside during our many and recent snows while listening to a CD of the Messiah playing in the background…this beats shoveling snow any day! We are thankful for your blog, thankful for this online community of saints…we were thinking of Jesus hanging out with His disciples and how that same Spirit is alive and present in and among the saints today…whether cyberspace or face to face, Christ remains the same yesterday, today and forever, AMEN…love in Him, and great blessings upon you all…Dave and Peggy

  5. December 17, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    Hey Reverend,

    Thanks for that encouragement. Good words, and a blessing to follow through with.

    Hope to see you soon…

    Blessings,

    (Pastor) Bill Walden

  6. billhold
    December 18, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Thanks all, for affirming what we all know to be true. We do not know these things simply because we feel them to be true, but because they are objectively true in Christ. He rose from the dead!

    Merry Christmas to all!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

