Home > Random Thoughts > My Frustration With Technology

My Frustration With Technology

computer_technologyI just spent the better part of the last 24 hours reinstalling my operating system on my laptop, along with all the programs and data files that I use (thank God I backed everything up!).

My laptop has become the brains of my life. Bible study software, Bible study and sermon writing, financial software, internet shopping for anything and everything, audio file editing, website editing, website publishing, email correspondence, blog reading, pastor’s listserver interchanging, and even movie watching… it’s all done from this little PC I’m sitting in front of right now.

It’s amazing how different the ministry is for me because of this medium. Much, much different than it was 35 years ago. I’m not complaining, mind you. But when this thing goes south on me, it can ruin my whole day.

So after I got myself going again tonight, what did I do? I installed even more features… like a way to subscribe to these blogs using email. It never ends. I’m thinking, though, that using technology is a good thing, if one uses it in a good way.

I know I’m real thankful for it. Because of technology, I’ve been able to stay in contact with hundreds of people with whom I probably would’ve lost touch. So that’s been awesome.

My son is a blog king. I’m learning a lot from that young lion.

Categories: Random Thoughts
  1. Rick Carmona
    December 6, 2008 at 10:50 am

    I understand your pain! As am employee of Microsoft, it feels like I am running Windows 95 all over again with Vista. Vista has some serious issues and Windows 7 launch next year will simplify the OS and take out a lot of needless API’s. Back ups are a good thing :-). Blessings to you Pastor, thanks for the updates!

  2. billhold
    December 6, 2008 at 11:10 am

    Thanks for that, Rick. I never felt good about getting a new machine, mostly because I didn’t want to deal with Vista. So this one’s several years old, but still works well… with XP home service pack. That’s why I keep backing up… because it’s old, I never know when it’s gonna die. Your comment tells me to wait until Windows 7 comes out before I upgrade my machine.

  3. Antoniette
    December 24, 2008 at 8:16 am

    I can’t believe that nobody has sent you the joke about Satan and Jesus and their computer war and how Satan lost because Jesus always saves …

  4. billhold
    December 24, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Antoniette, you just did!

    Fortunately, I DID save… that’s why I’m happy right now, using the same computer that crashed. PTL!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

