Home > Bible Study, Devotional, God's Grace > Our Identity in Christ

Our Identity in Christ

One of the primary emphases of my teaching ministry as a pastor has stemmed from my own personal need and study to learn about my identity in Christ, and of God’s love for me personally. It’s been quite a journey, indeed.

This past Wednesday night I had the blessed privilege of sharing this message with the saints at Calvary Monterey. For those of you who are new to Bill’s Blog, Calvary Monterey (aka Calvary Chapel Monterey Bay) was the church I started in 1979 and pastored for 27 years. Wednesday was my first time back in that pulpit since I stepped out of that role in February of 2006. My son Nate, now the senior pastor, invited me to come and deliver this message.

It was an emotional night for me, but a great one. Victorious in every respect. So I hope you not only enjoy this message, but also that you become greatly strengthened by it.

Here’s the video of that night: http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/9600373.

And here’s the audio only format: http://www.billholdridge.com/Ephesians/Our Identity in Christ.mp3.

God bless you! Feedback is always welcomed and appreciated.

In Christ,

Bill

  1. September 17, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    We find our true identification in Jesus Christ, only. It is true that there are only two kind of men in this world; one find in Adam and under curse and one find in Christ and these are under the Grace of God. Amen. Many blessings for you.

  2. Saundra Roth
    September 18, 2010 at 4:22 am

    I watched it Thursday morning, Just so happend that I was feeling really low. Just the night before I wanted to quit being Children’s ministry director, wanting to quit everything!! Got up early and remembered (probably the Lord’s prompting) that you were to be at Calvary Monterey the night before, watched and the Holy Spirit transformed my heart as soon as I confessed that I was spiritually bankrupted and trying to do it on my own!! Was wondering if you could email me the list you mentioned Wed. night… Iam Loved…I am a child of God..etc. I know they must have scripture with it and I want to give it to the ladies at our women’s retreat.
    I do watch you at CCSC on Sunday mornings after church,I don’t sit in our service, and you never fail at giving me God’s word filled with Grace, Hope, and love. Thank You Pastor Bill!!

  3. September 18, 2010 at 7:16 am

    Bill,

    Praise God for your blessed ministry.

    Terry

  4. September 18, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Thank you for your kind response, Terry.

    Galatians 2:20

  5. September 18, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    Sandy, your testimony blesses me. We SO need the grace of God, don’t we?

    I love Paul’s statement in Romans 5 … we have access by faith into this grace in which we stand. Any time we need it, we can draw upon the inexhaustible supply of grace coming from God Himself. It’s grace to strengthen us in our weaknesses, and to encourage our weakened hearts.

    Your confession brought you the victory! I love it! I’ll email the file to you as soon as possible.

    God bless you, Sandy.

  6. September 18, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    Amen, Pastor Zeeshan!

    Many blessings to you, too! Please say hello to Nomi for me, and to your precious little girls, as well as the church. Tell Thomas specifically that I miss him!

  7. Kathleen McCoy
    September 18, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    Hey Bill,

    So tearfully thankful to be receiving these messages of confidence building truths of who I am in Christ…I’ve been crying out in desperation to God for the past year to help me with my fears and insecurities…I’m very visual and I find mind pictures help me keep everything straight…it stays in my memory bank longer especially if I journal it.

    When my 2nd nephew, Blaze died and my family fell apart, I bought into the lie that God was no longer protecting my family and I. Here’s the picture…Fear and insecurity were like the 2 planes that hit the “towers” of who I believed I was, bringing everything that I thought I was to nothing but rubble, leaving me feeling hopeless, terrorized, and defeated…and feeling too overwhelmed by the destruction it caused.

    Bill, your messages these past several weeks have reminded me of the “truth” that I have a STRONG TOWER to run into where I AM SAFE! I am protected!!!

    My favorite picture that you have been bringing up often is the picture of Christ as our Advocate (Rev. 12: 10-12)…while the one who goes on accusing me of what a failure he thinks I am to my Father in heaven all day and all night…WOW!

    What my mind sees and hears is the Father seated on the thrown, SO PLEASED with His AWESOME Son…(remembering that God was pleased with Him before he had done anything…) (also remembering that God ignores the proud and exalts the humble…) my visual is Jesus, the Lamb who was slain, still wearing all the scars he took for me, powerfully standing silent, looking humbly at His Father…The Father, feeling pleased and completely satisfied with Jesus says, “My Beloved Son, I love you and I give you Kathleen. She is my gift to you. She is in You and You are in her. She is what you have longed for and she is Yours!”…then I picture them hugging and loving on each other…all the while Satan is shouting accusations…then the Father says, “My Son, in whom I am well pleased, do you hear something?…It’s like an annoying buzzing sound…” Jesus replies, “It’s probably just a fly, I’ll kill him in a little while…” and then they hug and love on each other some more…That’s my picture!

    Thanks Bill for these affirmations of the truth…I feel ALIVE again!

  8. September 19, 2010 at 5:37 am

    Kathleen, your testimony is powerful and wonderful. I’m so glad the Lord has led you through these muddy waters into the fresh, clean water of His Word! The truth has set you free!

    Your comment has given hope (and tools) to anyone who is suffering. The eternal perspective the Spirit has granted you has set you free! Praise the Lord, my sister.

  9. September 21, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Hi Pastor Bill,

    I just read the comment from Kathleen after I listened to the message and all I can say is “Wow! God is so good.” Thanks for sharing the Word, and for sharing your heart with transparency, openness and grace. I am going to be teaching through 1 and 2 Samuel soon, but before that I wanted to teach a topical series about practical Christian living. After listening to your message, I realize that any series on practical Christian living must begin with understanding who we are in Christ. All Christian living flows from that. Thanks again!

    Looking to Jesus,
    Matt

  10. September 22, 2010 at 9:13 am

    Hi Pastor Matt,

    Thank you for your feedback and response. I agree … it’s quite a message, the truth about who we are in Christ. It’s core, absolutely foundational truth for every believer.

    And I’m not talking about positional truth, I’m talking about experiential truth. The Lord means for us to experience our positon with Christ in the heavenilies!

    Blessings on you and your ministry, Matt. You’re a good soldier of Jesus Christ!

    Bill

  11. Saundra Roth
    November 15, 2010 at 3:34 am

    Wanted to let you know that I took notes with this lesson and received the email with the Identity in Christ list. Then the following Sunday one of my teachers couldn’t come in that Sunday morning and I had to teach the 8-12 year old class unexpectedly … had your notes taught on our identity in Christ and at the end I asked if anyone had accepted Christ and one 10 year old girl had raised her hand … what a God given moment!! I had the honor to lead Stephanie to our Lord and Savior because the Lord had me stay up early one morning and listen to your God given teachings!!

    Keep up the Good Work!!!
    Sandy

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,108 other followers

